Sunday, 4/22/18

I follow Susan Briscoe’s blog here on WordPress. She’s another person with incurable cancer who posts about once a week. A recent post included the ideas below:

On Curiosity

Posted on April 20, 2018

“The theme this month at the Unitarian Church I go to is curiosity. I like this: curiosity sounds like such a positive, life-affirming, even playful state of being to me. It’s also essential to learning. Curiosity demands that we arrive with openness, with presence, and that we leave what we think we already know aside and be prepared for something new, maybe even something unexpected. Maybe even something wondrous. Curiosity demands that we be engaged in the moment, attending to whatever presents itself.”

https://susanbriscoe.wordpress.com/2018/04/20/on-curiosity/


As her reader, the first reaction I had was, why would a terminally ill person still be curious? Why aren’t we over that? I certainly still have it. Why is that? Shouldn’t all my energy and thoughts be on my own body? I then concluded that loss of curiosity is the true terminal disease, not cancer.

Terry

6 thoughts on “Sunday, 4/22/18

  1. That search to know and to understand is one of the driving forces in my life. I often worry that traditional schooling dampens rather than excites curiosity.

    Like

  2. I think there is a distinction between curiosity and nosiness but it can get blurred?
    I looked it up. See of you agree?

    Curiosity is harmless wonderment regarding something that may or may not lead to any action. Example: A kitten sees a ball of yarn and decides to investigate it out of curiosity.

    Nosiness is curiosity with an agenda. It usually is something that is not the person’s business.
    Example: A person hears their neighbors fighting, and goes outside to better hear all the details.

    Like

Leave a comment